Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

‘The Great Divide’

28 September - 28 October

Free
TGD FB Event Header

Politics is dividing people all over the world. The political climate is at breaking point. People are angry. Artists are channelling these feelings and using their craft to make work in protest and reaction to these turbulent times.

‘The Great Divide’ is a platform to showcase artworks by over 60 artists from across the globe and will bring the work of prominent and emerging street artists together in a gallery setting. The exhibition will look at how artists are responding to current political, environmental and economic issues and asks if we can come back together in the face of division. The exhibition will be accompanied by a series of free events:


IMG_2869Thursday 27 September, 6-9pm:
Launch Event
with Hip-Hip performances from Inner Peace Records and live graffiti demos from 2Blu and Tru2.

 


Screen Shot 2018-10-02 at 12.20.04Friday 5 October, 7pm:
Performance Art Assembly featuring:
Jackdaw with Crowbar
Ala Jazayeri & Mina Azar
Héctor Ayala
Eden Within
Hannah Mary
Jezella Pigot & Naomi Morris
Alice Floyd
Christopher Badger

 


44079032_10156168701393757_7362047894985113600_n
Friday 26 October, 7pm:
Popcorn, Beer and Politics
Join us for beer and popcorn as we pull up the sofa and talk politics! We will be showing a variety of political work from filmmakers as well as a Panel Discussion.


Screen Shot 2018-10-03 at 13.34.15Accessible Tours Drop-in times:
Friday 5 October, 3-6pm

Friday 19 October, 3-6pm
Sunday 28 October, 3-6pm
*note: length of the tour is 15 minutes
Join artist Emily Gong and explore her work which aims to broaden access to the gallery experience for people with visual impairments or learning difficulties. The Accessible Tours use 3D reliefs and audio descriptions to provide visitors with a tactile, sensory experience.


Exhibition Open: Thursdays – Sundays, 12-6pm

Please note that works in this exhibition contain adult language, themes and content. Viewer and parental discretion is advised.

EXHIBITING ARTISTS: 
@dacarter_project – London, UK
@dmstuff – Manchester, UK
@displaced_replaced – Nottingham, UK
@apparan – London, UK
@fitlike – Aberdeen, UK
@face_the_strange_ – Derby, UK
@uberfubs – London, UK
@smiler_streetart – London, UK
@t.b.o.n.s – Berlin, Germany
@jdk.artist – Chicago, USA
@sincanvas Portland, USA
@deranges_elf – London, UK
@polarbearstencils – Paris, France
@ferizuku – Cartago Valle, Columbia
@stelleconfuse Florence, Italy
@angryhombre – London, UK
@scoutpines – Chatham, USA
@maupal3000 – Rome, Italy
2Blu – Oxford, UK
Tru2 – Oxford, UK
Ben Sad @bensad.art – Oxford, UK
Alex Singleton @fluffyalexsingleton – Oxford, UK
Christoph Jones @ ccccchristoph – Oxford, UK
Josh Hughes @squasha.caricature – Oxford, UK
Kieran McLean @kps.mclean – Oxford, UK
Mitchell Smith @mitchellsmith_arts – London, UK
Matt Smart @mattsmartart – Oxford, UK
Dawn Parsonage @parsonago – London, UK
Jordan Johnson @jjlpxarthaus – Oxford, UK
Kelvin Jenkins @kelvinjenkins6 – Oxford, UK
Imogen Rigden @imorigden – Oxford, UK
Demetrio Salces @demetrio_salces – Cordoba, Spain
Andrew ‘Manny’ Manson @thebigorangem – Oxford, UK
Simon Mandarino @simonmandarino – Oxford, UK
Sara Jayne Harris @sara_jayne_harris – UK
Eden Within – Malé, Republic of Maldives
Rosina Godwin @rosina.godwin – Guildford, UK
Emily Gong @g_em_ – Toronto, Canada
Sally Gorham @sally.gorham – Bishops Stortford, UK
Dom Culverwell @domaculver
Francesca Duffield – Brighton, UK
Kate Aries @katearies_artist – Oxford, UK
Jeremy Morgan @jeremy_r_morgan – Oxford, UK
Marty Kristian FB Arty Kristian – Chorleywood, UK
Nina Fraser @_ninafraser_ – Lisbon, Portugal
Mike Conlin @conlinstudios – New York, USA
Louisa Marriott @louisamarriott_art – Norwich,UK
Erin Pagoni @pagonilifeinart – Athens, Greece
Vardit Goldner – Hod HaSharon, Israel
Ana Vujic @ana_vujic – Basel, Switzerland
Katie Ullyart @katieullyart – Oxford, UK
Sarah Christie @saraheachristie – London, UK
Ptolemy Venables – Oxford, UK

OVADA would like to give special thanks to: Tommy Watkins, the exhibiting artists, 2Blu and Tru2, the Installation and Invigilation volunteers, Inner Peace Records, LUSH, Broad Canvas, Bounce, RAW Workshop, Witney Music Rooms, Oxford Brookes University.  

Details

Start:
28 September
End:
28 October
Cost:
Free
Event Category:

Venue

OVADA Warehouse
14a Osney Lane
Oxford, OX1 1NJ United Kingdom
+ Google Map
Phone:
01865 200979

Organizer

OVADA